muskma

Stamping tools list for a newbie

I'm a total newbie to tooling and wanting to know where to start. (I've worked with building things from leather for years but have never tried any tooling) Can anyone give me, or tell me where to find, a list of the basic tool numbers that I should get to start with. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. (There is no Tandy store anywhere near me to take a class from)

Do you know what kind of stamping/carving you are wanting to do yet? The tools you will need will be different depending on if you are interested in traditional floral carving, Sheridan style floral carving, figure carving, or basketweave/geometric stamping. Let us know what direction you are leaning in, and we should be able to help you out with some ideas.

I think I'd like to start with traditional floral. I have Al Stohlman's Inverted carving book and just ordered his How to Carve Leather book, so will be starting using some of those patterns.

Do you know what kind of stamping/carving you are wanting to do yet? The tools you will need will be different depending on if you are interested in traditional floral carving, Sheridan style floral carving, figure carving, or basketweave/geometric stamping. Let us know what direction you are leaning in, and we should be able to help you out with some ideas.

If you can afford it, buy a basic 15 piece Ellis Barnes tool set either direct from Ellis or from

http://www.siegelofca.com