Gonnate

Finishing a row of stitching

Hi all,

This question shows just how self-taught you can get :) ... When I get to the end of a seam of saddle stitches I tend to double back down the last hole or two, then tie the 2 ends of thread on the side which won't show so much. It's secure, but looks a bit clumsy.

What's the proper way to do it, please?

Thanks,

Richard.

Hi all,

This question shows just how self-taught you can get :) ... When I get to the end of a seam of saddle stitches I tend to double back down the last hole or two, then tie the 2 ends of thread on the side which won't show so much. It's secure, but looks a bit clumsy.

Thanks,

Richard.

Go back two or three holes and then cut the ends close with a knife. That's what it says to do in the Al Stohlman book on handsewing, and it works quite well.

Once you cut the loose ends as close as you can with an x-acto knife or scalpel, you can burn the ends with a lighter. Be careful not to cut the stitch, just the loose end.

Hi all,

Thanks,

Richard.

When I'm not using real heavy thread and I have a lot of room, I like to go back 3 and up 1, clip the threads, and then maybe take a needle and run a little bit of FabriTac or even some clear nail polish to the threads I just cut. That helps lock them in and prevents them pulling out and leaving danglers.

I'm not sure that there is any right or wrong way. I used to just go back two like lots of folks do but I changed. Nevertheless, I could easily do back-2 and it wouldn't bother me.

:red_bandana::red_bandana::red_bandana:

Give this a try . . . it's the way I was taught by an old-time saddler.

Go back two stitches, as previously suggested, but on the last stitch wrap the loop thread once around the needle before pulling it tight (see pic). This effectively ties a knot inside the hole, and it will never come loose. Trim the ends flush in the usual way.

DSCF0306.jpg

post-7199-1229965575_thumb.jpg