Sign in to follow this  
beltman08

Question Re: Landis Model 30 Crank Splitter

I've been making belts somewhat casually for a couple of years. I usually just use the thicknesses of leather that I can buy, but decided some time ago that a splitter would be a good idea.

So, I purchased one of those inexpensive Neel's Saddlery pull type splitters on ebay a while back. It is just ok if kept extremely sharp, but once it dulls just a tiny bit, it's very difficult to use.

So, I decided that a crank splitter would be the perfect solution. I was finally able to acquire a Landis Model 30 and I've just had time to play around with it a little.

So far, I'm befuddled. Either I'm too dumb to figure out how to use it, it's set up wrong, or it won't function in the way I envisioned and need it to (or some combination thereof).

I'm therefore looking for some guidance.

Although I use chrome-tanned leather some, I didn't really figure it would be of much help splitting that unless it was very firm leather. But, I assumed that it would split veg tan leather without any problems. I figured I'd use it to split veg and if it did some chrome, that would be a bonus.

So, I've tried various pieces, various thicknesses, etc and still am having massive problems.

When I go to split a piece of say 8-9oz veg, the only way it will feed is if I have it on 4.5 setting or lower (a lot of times it won't feed unless it's on 3). When I do manage to get a piece to feed, it will only split to a very, very thin thickness of less than 1mm. When it splits on say setting 3 and is less than a mm, then I adjust to 4.5 and feed an identical piece, it splits where the top part is still less than a mm.