The Grizzly

Making Sheathes For A Knifemake & He Wants To Use His Own Finish...spray Silicone, Got ?s.

I was contacted by a knife maker on another forum who wanted me to make sheath for one of his knives. I think he was looking to find someone who did better work than his previous supplier. He showed me the design he uses and I made it to his specifications of tooling and dye color.

Now my real question falls around this: He says that he puts on his own finish after wet forming the sheath, and that the finish he uses is spray silicone. I am not familiar with spray silicone for leatherwork (as I am still new to this), nor how well it holds up. I've been using a beeswax/paraffin/neat's foot oil mix on my sheathes that gives both a nice hardened feel as well as water repellent.

Should I trust my name and my work to a simple spray silicone finish? Or should I kindly suggest to him a better overall finish (ie: my wax finish)? I just don't want my sheath having issues down the road and it coming back on me because the final finishing was left to someone who does not to leatherwork.

Silicone spray on leather? I think he's short changing himself. Sure it will soak in and provide some waterproofing, but it won't do more than that. Personally I'd stick with the neatsfoot oil and wax as it will condition the leather, waterproof it and harden it up to be more scratch resistant. Can't see silicone doing any of that.