rogersry

Help Me Kick Off My Business Please

Hey all you leatherworker,

I am an amateur leatherworker out of Utah and I have mostly done stuff for my self however I would like to start a leather working business, if you could please give me a shoutout on whatever social media you guys have, just tell them to go follow R2leathetworks on Instagram or etsy! Thank you guys so much!

Rylee

make a few small usable items, and get some business cards made. Make sure you have an email address and phone # on them. I have found out that my pinwheel coin purse is a great opener for people when they see me use it, so use your personal items to your advantage. People will notice.

when someone asks you, make sure to give them a card. also getting an etsy account is a help to start selling online. make sure to drop a few cards off at some bike shops, tattoo shops (people like tats and wallets that match). Basically network your business with some local places and let word of mouth spread. then branch from there. if your pretty new to leathercraft then market your advantages and items your familiar with to the places people will use them. making a business card holder out of leather is a nice presentation of your work with your cards also.

I don't think you find many people that will send their customers to you. When if their like me they need the business they get from their customers. But i could be a 100% wrong. In the real world you need to build your own customer base.

tottally agree with dirtclod..... the other part is most people in business will only use their name recommending someone else when they know their service and products are not going to put their own business name at risk........ years to build one minute to wreck.... sort of thing.......

show your work and start selling it, your customer base and confidence will build......sometimes it can happen quickly but mostly it.takes time I'm afraid....