Sign in to follow this  
BevJones

getting started

Hi all, I am from Wisconsin and have a deep desire to build saddles and make tack. Pretty big goal as I have no leather working experience, but, one must start somewhere. Tired of painting and drawing and I have become too frustrated trying to fit my horse and myself. Should look to purchasing a custom saddle...... anyway, after many days of internet searching, I felt your site was the best to guide me. People seem friendly and knowledgable. I intend to purchase Harry Adams and Al Stohlman's books. Will also purchase Jeremiah Watts DVD and may even spring for Dale Harwoods one of these days. Will look to this group to recommend where to buy kits for beginning based on quality and not getting ripped off with prices. I believe you get what you pay for, but I know some charge too much. I am realistic and realize I will probably need to make many belts and checkbook covers.....anyone have any recommendations on what kits to start with?

Bev

Kits are a great way to start out with and to learn. Save all the patterns ect out of the kits that way you can build one out of your own leather some day. One thing about the kits is that the quality of leather is very low. I have complained about this but quality leather is not what sells these kits. As far as saddle making, I would also suggest Bill Gomers Video. But with any video there is a lot of little things you will not pickup on that you will in person taking a saddle making school. Having someone show you as you build one is the best way in my oponion. Trying to learn saddle making from a video or books would be a hard thing to do. I tried it and broke down and paid the money to go to Bill Gomer's school. The Stohlman books are also a valuable resourse to have.

Randy

Randy,