Tim321

Some Ammo Pouch Questions

Hi folks,

I am relatively new to leatherworking, but have a few projects under my belt. My father in law asked me to make him an ammo pouch. I have looked at quite a few designs on the forum and have a few questions.

I have designed a basic template just to give me an idea of a starting point that I have uploaded below. Excuse the messy cut, it happened when I cut it out onto pretty thick cardboard (using manilla when I have a finalized design). I mounted it on my belt and it seems to fit. This ammo pouch will be pancake style, and I intend to wet form the front piece only then stitch them together, and it will be constructed using 8/9oz leather. The magazine is 4 3/4" long, 1 7/16" wide and 3/4" deep.

questions:

1. I have noticed that stitch line distances from the side of where the ammo clip sits varies in pics from fellow forum users here. I have seen the stitching right in the crease and I have seen them (guessing here) about 1/4" or so away. Is this just a matter of preference or has this been based on how it is made?

2. I have designed it so 2/3 of the magazine will sit in the pouch to ensure it stays secure, leaving 1/3 of it extending making it easy to grab. Comments welcome!

3. What is the minimum distance you think between the belt slots and the edge of the leather? If I were to stitch around 1/4" away from the belts slots, would another 1/2 inch minimum be sufficient, so the leather all told would be at least 3/4" from the slots? I would hate for the leather to tear because I didn't make the leather wide enough.

Thanks in advance for your input.

Tim

post-55496-0-68867800-1412774926_thumb.j