Hi all,

I'm very new to leatherworking and am still finding my way around. I've made a couple of smaller items from offcuts, but am now looking at a larger project.

I am hoping to build a backpack based loosely on the front pocket backpack from Saddleback Leather:

http://www.saddlebackleather.com/frontpocketbackpack

One of the main critiques I've seen of this particular bag is the weight, so I thought I would use Kangaroo Leather instead.

As I live in Australia, it is fairly easily obtainable, and from what I understand it is quite strong. I'm just not sure whether it is right for this application or not, so I am hoping that I might be able to get some advice to make sure I'm heading in the right direction. Does anyone have experience with this leather, e.g. pros and cons, or has some idea of how it might go with a largish bag of this kind?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Daniel.

The only way I see you lightening it up is thinner leather, whatever the origin. Thinner leather might require using stiffeners, which will add some weight back. The thing about Saddleback bags is they are producing bags that they hope will last beyond the current user. So they build 'em very robust.

I used stiff chrome tan kangaroo leather before, only a few offcuts for practice.

If you use kangaroo, in my opinion it will look different than saddleback bags. Saddleback is meant to look rugged, so they use thick leathers with scratches and don't finish the edges of the bag. If thats not an issue you just have to add extra leather or stiffener so that it will hold its shape. Veg tan in itself will hold its shape, at 2-3 ounces it may be too thin for a rugged adventure bag, so if kangaroo is 2-3 ounces it could be too thin without any stiffener.