Sign in to follow this  
bcj

where to buy 9/10 oz double shoulders?

I'm new to holster making and leather work in general. I have been buying 9/10 oz double shoulders. I have gotten nice ones from Zack White's in the past, listed as #1 domestic, but they say they are unavailable now. The ones they have now are called premium imported with clean pasted backs. Has anyone used these? I have also used the Tandy #1 live oak, but the ones I've seen lately have very "nappy" backs. I emailed Hidecrafters and they told me they no longer sell double shoulders because there aren't any amercan tanneries producing them and the imports are poor quality. They also saide they didn't recommend the Tandy shoulders. If anyone has used the Zack Whites, or the tandy please let me know how they worked, or if you can recommend something else please let me know. Thanks so much.

Double shoulders from Siegel are very good for the price. They are on sale now.

http://www.siegelofca.com/itemdetail.asp?prodid=1095

I don't have any of their 9oz but I have made holsters from their 5/6oz and 6/7oz double and stitched. The shoulders I have take dye well and are pretty clean. I don't know the lineage of these hides, but Siegel will tell you if you ask. I've never had to send leather back to them, but you can if you are not satisfied. I did have a problem with a tool once and it was replaced very quickly.