I'm having a difficult time matching up the belt tip with the liner tip (I cut them in two seperate operations) when I glue them together. If I'm off any at all when I cut the tips, they won't match perfectly thus a long sanding ordeal, down the line, and possible distortion of the tip.

I punch all holes for the belt tip as well as the buckle end (tongue slot & chicago holes). Measure and cut the liner. Dye the belt & then glue the two together then sew, ect.

I was thinking of cutting the tips (belt & liner) at the same time thus matching perfectly. Then seperate the liner and dye the belt. Is this something any of you have tried. Holding the two tips together as you cut them might be a problem. Any suggestions?

If you do not cut the belt tip before you dye it you will have a raw tip as you glue the two together and cut both tips together. So I think that method is out the window.

Is there a better way to skin this cat?

I am no expert on the subject but here is how I do it. I cut the belt and liner straps to length and glue them together. Once the glue is dry I use an end punch to cut the tip. Then I sew the two layers together, puch the holes, and then do the finish work.

Nick

Hi Tom

Most of the time I finish the outline for the top including the ends and then glue on an oversized liner, sew it, cut the liner to match the top, then punch holes and finish edges.

Art

I'm having a difficult time matching up the belt tip with the liner tip (I cut them in two seperate operations) when I glue them together. If I'm off any at all when I cut the tips, they won't match perfectly thus a long sanding ordeal, down the line, and possible distortion of the tip.

I punch all holes for the belt tip as well as the buckle end (tongue slot & chicago holes). Measure and cut the liner. Dye the belt & then glue the two together then sew, ect.