I just thought I would start a topic...

I use both Bardge, & master cement on my leather prodjects...

I would like to here from all, on which cement yall use, & why...

I know the fourmular has changed with the enviormantal issues in todays world.

So I want to know your view on this issue.

I think other leathercraftpeople would like to here about it also...

SO FEEL FREE TO ADD YOUR $0.02 in........

PS: Also talk about thinning the cement. ex: how much, how often, & which thinner you use,brand name or generic???

Edited by craftsman827

I use both Masters and Barge (original Barge), and like them both. I have a lot of experience with Barge and only a little experience with Masters. I began using Masters when I thought I was not going to be able to the original Barge any longer. It seems to me that Masters drys a lot faster than Barge does, so for me that is one of the things I think about....drying time. When I'm gluing smaller pieces, I usually grab the Masters.

I use Barge the most because that's what I have the most experience with. I thin it...probably 10% to 20% depending how long it's been in my bottle. Just enough to be able to spread it evenly. If it's thick and I have a large area to glue, it is difficult to spread evenly. Masters can be thinned also, but I don't have any experience with it yet. I would assume the properties are the same as Barge.

I think the Masters may be a little stronger than Barge, and so that is a consideration when I use it also. The more I use the Masters, the more I like it. I have also noticed that when gluing latigo with Barge, I usually have to coat twice, but with Masters, I don't.

The bottom line for me is that I like them both and enjoy having the option to use each to my advantage.

Bob