ruthless

Can anyone recommend some good books?

Hi,

I'd like to learn out how to make a rolled leather collar and also how to make lined collars. Can anyone suggest any good books or online tutorials?

Also, where can I source dog collar specific hardware, such as martingale chains and breakaway buckles, etc.?

Don't feel bad. THere are a LOT of posts asking for help on this board and not all of them get alot of replies. I asked a similar question about leather for collars and nobody answered. I figure it's not personal, it's just the luck of a high volume board.

So here's my two cents, I don't think it's terribly helpful but at least you won't feel alone :grouphug5vj5: I have been making collars and leads for a while, but I am far from an expert at sourcing good hardware, and I've been struggling with it too.

I did get some martingale chain from a Herm Sprenger dealer called RH McElheney, but I also have made martingales with a second leather strap as the martingale itself.

I still haven't found fabulous buckles, the ones called "dog collar buckles" that have the center bar are okay, but I really like roller buckles better with a keeper and a dee ring. I know that some people put the dee on the end for strength, and I have also seen some nice collars with buckles that have a round look at the tongue. My current deal is to look at vintage collars for how they are put together. Interestingly, they used to lock collars on dogs. And those spike collars were used to protect dogs from being attacked. The history of dog collars is a very interesting subject to me, but I'm just learning.

As for leashes, I use split braiding alot. I have been using latigo but I think that bridle leather is going to be better for me when I next need a side.

I don't think there is much in the way of a tutorial or book on dog collars, but think "belt" with a dee ring and you can get some good ideas.