ChiefFilipino

First Leather Projects: Japanese Tabi, Kyahan, & Tekko, Bracelet, Key Holder And Wallet

Hello All!

I am new to leather crafting but I have fallen in love with it! I have a gazillion projects in mind but here are the first few projects I completed. Please help me become better with any tips, critiques, or thoughts you might have!

I study Budo Taijutsu and so I made these for myself to replace my worn out items:

Japanese Tabi (split toed boots)

post-63516-0-62480100-1435423570_thumb.jpost-63516-0-60502300-1435423571_thumb.jpost-63516-0-45179200-1435423572_thumb.jpost-63516-0-52846700-1435423573_thumb.jpost-63516-0-35278600-1435423574_thumb.jpost-63516-0-38692200-1435423575_thumb.j

Kyahan (basically like shin guards and to cover the pant legs)

post-63516-0-24179800-1435423637_thumb.j

It looks like I will have to add the other projects as replies because I hit the limit.

Ok I've run into technical difficulties! I haven't figured out how to work this site. I will post more pictures just as soon as I figure out what I'm doing!

I may have to start a thread for each new item.

Ok, I still haven't figured my way around the forum but I did find the gallery section. I put all my photos in the gallery titled First Leather Projects if you are interested in checking it out. Feedback is needed, requested, and appreciated!

I really like the split toed boots! :)

Thank you! I modified a moccasin design to make them. They are quite comfortable!

I made shoes one time. They were pretty comfy, but I got them wet. After they dried, they never were comfy again. They required too much effort to get into, so I never tried to stretch them out.

mocs_zpsf6bd790c.jpg

Those are nice! Mine are made of deer skin remnants and so far I have sweated in them but they haven't gotten soaked in water. Hopefully mine will be ok. I put resolene on the outside so hopefully that will help. Are yours deer skin?