tazzmann

Business Accounting Software

I didn't see a section in the business area for this, so sorry Johanna if I posted in the wrong place.

Anyway, I am new to the whole "Accounting" end of things and have bought Microsoft Small Business Accounting 2008 Professional. (Actually I have an MSDN subscription, so I got it for free :) ) It seems rather clunky for it being touted for the small business person. Maybe it is because I don't understand the accounting end of things as I should and can't afford an accountant as of yet to help me out or maybe it is because I am thinking I should be able to do things that you are just not allowed to in accounting. Like simply deposit a check for a loan to my company or keep track of inventory that I don't sell but use in the process of making goods. :ranting2:

Anyway, my question is this: What accounting software, if any, do you guys who have been in their own business for a while use? And why do you use that particular software (what are the features you like and don't like)?

Thanks!

I've been using Simply Accounting for over 20 yrs. I use it cause it's simple to use and understand. Besides, I was trained using this program, it simply works for me the best for keeping track of payables and receivables. I don't use the inventory portion. I just expense all inventory supplies, regardless of stock. That keeps it easy.

I'm sure if you were to contact your local chamber of commerce they would be able to help you out with training on a program that would work for you. There are actually several good ones out there that do the same thing.

I hope that helps you out.

I started using Quickbooks when I was the treasurer of a certain not to be named guild. Then I started using it for my own business. While it is pricey, I find it to be really good and easy to use. I like the different reports, graphs and charts it can do, and there is ALOT more to it than I used myself.