Sign in to follow this  
fineredmist

saddle bags

Good afternoon. I am new to this hobby, and looking for some help. I just bought a single action 22 pistol and have ordered a set of patterns to make a gun belt and holster. However it looks as though I will have quite a bit of leather left from the piece I was given by my neighbor. So on to the subject of the post. I would like to know if any one would be willing to give a few basic dimensions of a set of saddle bags. depth, width, and length of pouches, and length of backing strap that connects the bags. ps traditional cowboy style saddle bags please I intend to wear them over my shoulder and use as a possibles bag for my rifle.

Hello!

You can get the patterns at Tandy. They have a book of patterns for around 5 bucks. Money well spent!

Good luck.

Generally saddle bags come in two types, the first and most widely seen are the bags that go on the rear joceks of the saddle behind the cantel. Second are the pommel style bags that fit over the horn and rest on the swells of the saddle. These are quite accessable and as long as your not roping these are great for trail riding. Both bags are easily made and can be custom made and fitted to your saddle, making them more secure and useful and less of a pain. First off figure out what you will likely carry and where you want to put it on your saddle. Heavier items should go in the pommel bags on the front of your saddle. I have used a number of saddle bags over the years and found the run of the mill generic patterns caused me alot of frustrtion. They would slide around because of poor fit.