Sign in to follow this  
Deanimator

Layout/design Technique

I designed and laid out my pocket holster using Corel Draw. That worked out very well, especially considering that I'm a miserable freehand artist.

I'm working on an IWB holster and am running into issues relating to making adjustments to the drawing after printing the pattern.

My pattern has an integral body shield, making one side somewhat differently shaped at the mouth. By trial and error I incrementally stretch the pattern to get enough space around the gun, especially the trigger guard.

The problem is that when I stretch the overall horizontal dimension, it somewhat exaggerates certain dimensions, such as the depth of the area around the trigger guard. I can manually tighten that up on one side, but that creates the problem of duplicating that modification on the opposite side. Does it even matter if one side is bigger than the other, if I can outline around the correctly dimensioned side when the pattern's folded over? That would be fine, although that would still leave me with a correctly dimensioned cardboard pattern, but an inaccurate digital one.

I know that I'm probably missing something very simple that other people using Corel Draw or a CAD program have already solved.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I use Adobe Illustrator for my patterns. Here is my process, hope it will help:

1.) Take a belly scrap and make a quick envelope style pouch with a couple inches of space around everything, throw a few lines of 3-4 stitches at intervals around the flap to hold it together. Wet mold around the dummy with the sight track dowl in place, and then take a pen and draw where the outside mold lines and key features (ejection port, cylinder, magazine release, etc depending on the gun) are. Also a reasonably straight line down the top where the site track/center of the fold is.