MarkB

Spur Leathers for my wife

Here is the latest pair of spur leathers. These are the 4th pair that I have drawn the flowers for and would like your feed back on what I can do to improve on. Carving things this small is new to me and is going to take a lot more practice. Thank for any input you might have.

Mark

snow_storm_3_23_09_042.JPG

post-9505-1238580679_thumb.jpg

Those look real nice Mark, I don't know much about what makes floral carving good but looks fine to me. And if your wife doesn't like'em I happen to know a wife that would probably use them.

Rob

Prit-tay!!

Hey Mark,

Those look very nice. I am by no stretch of the imagimation a good carver. I did do a class with Bill Gomer in Jan 08. The only thing I can see that you might improve on is the backgrounding. It could be smoother. Like I say, I'm no expert and I think they look great. I'm not sure I can even do that good. Backgrounding is what I have trouble with so I look close at it.

Joe

Nice work!!!

Here is the latest pair of spur leathers. These are the 4th pair that I have drawn the flowers for and would like your feed back on what I can do to improve on. Carving things this small is new to me and is going to take a lot more practice. Thank for any input you might have.

Mark

snow_storm_3_23_09_042.JPG

Mark,

You have a nice shaped strap, and the rosette design is great. Stamping smaller does introduce complications. A few tips for you to consider.... try changing the layout of the tooling pattern to have less background. Smaller spaces work better with bar background tools. You could adjust this pattern by turning the bottom flower around clockwise, so the stem comes out the bottom of the flower along the border, and extending the stems around the flower. The top flower could be turned counter clockwise with the stem more toward the button. Then move both flowers closer to the border, so some of the petals extended a bit past the border, reducing background space.