OffLead

getting started

I normally spend a good long time lurking on a site before ever stepping up and saying anything, but this time around my need for some specific hardware is making me post right away. :-) After years of trying to find and buy the perfect dog leads, I've decided to hell with it, and I'm going to make my own. I slapped a few together already, and now that I at least have something that WORKS, I can go about figuring out how to make something that also looks fabulous.

I found 1/2" and 3/4" bronze bolt snaps at a local indy hardware store, much to my delight and surprise. They do have bronze O rings, but only down to 1". I would very much like to find some 3/4" bronze O rings, as well as some smaller sizes on both bolt-snaps and O rings. (I can't go much smaller for my own needs, since my "pup" is 200 lbs, but I have a friend with much smaller dogs that I'd like to make something for.)

And since I'm brand new to this, I would love some tips on the best places to be looking for the various tools I need, and for good leather. What I've gotten so far comes from Tandy, and seems perfectly addequate for getting started, but I assume there are places to look for higher quality on some items. If I am going to start buying tools, I want to make sure I'm not spending a lot of money on things I'll end up trading up on after not too much time.

I make custom leather dog collars and leashes. I buy the majority of my hardware from Weaver Leather.

But you need a tax id to set up a wholesale account.

diddo on Weaver but if you do not have a tax id Tandy and Hidecrafters handle what you are looking for.

Randy

Sorry, I should have said...Tandy carries nothing in bronze at all, and only larger sizes of brass bolt-snaps. They actually didn't have any of the hardware I needed.

Hmm, seems to me you really are talking bronze rather than brass.

In which case, I don't know *anyone* who carries bronze, just brass.