AZ Pete

Braided Hat Band

Hi all -

I am going to make a hat band for a beaver felt hat. It is going to be made out of cowhide. I am going to do a 10-12 strand crocodile ridge braid. I would like the final width to be around 1.25". A few questions I have:

1) Is there a general calculation I would need to use to determine the width of the strands in order to acheive my final width of the band? I am pretty new to flat braids having dealt mostly with whip making.

2) I have read somewhere along the lines that I should not use any leather conditioner when braiding this piece because it might stain the hat. Should I not use anything on the leather at all??

3) Should I be concerned about dying the strands? Will that also potentially bleed on the hat?

Thanks to all for any input.

Regards,

Pete

The general calculation that I use is the width of the string times how many strings you braid. For instance, 1/8th(0.1250) x 10 = 1.25. But since you're doing a crocidile ridge braid you might end up having to add 2 more strings to make up for the ridge in the middle. I am not sure of that part yet myself. So you should experiment with some cheap lace first to find out for sure.

Using a conditioner or a soap is not a good idea for the felt that it will lay against. You might consider pre-conditioning the strings and letting them sit over night to dry out then braiding the next day. This might help out.

I'm no expert at dying leather. I buy all my leather already dyed the color I need. But I have heard that if you dye the hide you will have to seal it when done so that it does not bleed color.

Brian...

Edited by KnotHead