Traveller

a question about in-skirt rigging

If I understand correctly, in-skirt rigging is the best way to avoid bulk under your leg, giving you better contact with the horse and making it easier to drap your leg around the horse.

But does it sacrifice strength at all? Leather stretches and I can imagine the skirt leather stretching in a not-so-good way. Other rigging styles have separate pieces of leather which can stretch without altering the shape of the skirt. Or at least, that's how I imagine it could happen.

Am I right?

Thanks in advance for everyone's input!

-- Joanne

Joanne,Inskirt rigging saddles are just as strong as any other.They all need to be put in right.I just got a saddle to repair with a skirt rig,it needs wool skins and leathers.The rigging is still sound.This saddle has had alot of big cattle roped and a lot of calves branded out of it.I built the saddle 26 yrs. ago.

Steve

I've been riding mostly inskirt saddles, for about 35 years - roped in them, reined, all-around, etc. I make anything the rider asks for - it's a personal decision...some are sold on inskirts, (they are the least bulk, and the lightest overall), while others insist on flat plates or some variety of dee ring setup. Most of these I put in are 7/8 dropped, and I have to know how they ride, and whether they want a twist on the fenders - I have to adjust my skirts and the neck on the fenders, as well as the fender length and stirrup leather length, to accomodate those that are short legged, but I always ask if they are the only one riding it or sharing, and what the other inseam length(s) may be. In all these years, repairing and building, listening to what other makers have to say as well as paying close attention to what I'm repairing and why that is, my conclusions are that the inskirt is the least bulky, and, if put in properly, meaning that the overlay and the front area of the skirt are both of the best part of the hide when laid out, you will have little stretch, and