Crispy

Help A Beginner

Ok I’ve been playing with my tools and the only tutorials I’ve had are the YouTube videos or Tandy videos.

I’ve made a pattern for a belt (or part of one) inspired by thistles. I’ve started a sample piece from the side of leather (7-8 oz.) and need some pointers if anyone would be so kind.

The leather is misshaping while I tool it, should I glue it to anything and if so to what with what. (The leather is thick enough to be a belt so the back will be the finished side, unless anyone can tell me of a better technique)

Is my pattern to fine? I don’t know if I’m attempting to mush to soon.

The back-grounding doesn’t want to stay level after tooling.

Any other observational tips would be great.

Cheers

post-39849-0-95742200-1364814008_thumb.j

I am not an expert on tooling, . . . many others here are far better, . . . but my first observation is that you are making a couple of typical mistakes that are more or less universal with all of us as beginners.

1. You were working your leather while it was wet, . . . not when it was properly cased. "Wet" leather will spread out when tooled, like pouring pancake batter on a hot griddle.

2. From the looks of the backgrounding, . . . it looks like you are whacking it pretty hard. The tooling, truthfully, is more "sleight of hand" magic, . . . than truthful depictions. You give the appearance of an effect of depth, . . . or shading, . . . or rounding, . . . and you really do not have to pound it to get it there.

You also need to have a very hard tooling surface, . . . a piece of marble, a piece of 6mm or thicker steel, . . . something that is both heavy and not yielding.

Table tops and counter tops are simply too bouncy, . . . will not give you the desired end product.

Take another piece of leather, . . . 150mm or so long, . . . make a piece as wide as your belt, . . . lightly dampen it on the hair side only with a wet paper towel, . . . and trace out your design.

Let it dry.