flatlander

braided scarf slides

Newbie here. I have been braiding a few turkshead scarf slides. I have been a little disappointed in my outcomes. The problem is my foundations giving a "bumpy" look to my finished knot. I have been using rawhide and tying a 5 X 7 turkshead over a mandrel to make my foundation. What do you folks use for foundations for these slides?

Flatlander

I use a leather collar so I can shave it to the shape I want.

Keep Braiding,

Heather

Same here. Take your mandrel and a piece of leather strap. Cut one end of the leather strap at a steap bevel, wrap around the mandrel, and cut the other end so that the bevels fight tight together without leaving a bump where they meet.

Take some tape (I use floral tape) and take a couple wraps around the collar. Shave with a razor to make sure you have a consistant foundation, and braid away!

Same here. Take your mandrel and a piece of leather strap. Cut one end of the leather strap at a steap bevel, wrap around the mandrel, and cut the other end so that the bevels fight tight together without leaving a bump where they meet.

Take some tape (I use floral tape) and take a couple wraps around the collar. Shave with a razor to make sure you have a consistant foundation, and braid away!

I use a leather core and then mouse it up with waxed thread to give it the shape I want. Then I braid over that.

Hedge

I use a piece of copper pipe, braid, tighten, roll and then slide it off the pipe and glue the inside. I think I rawhiders idea better though.

Waiting for some rawhide to case, so I whipped up a slide. and I took pics of how I build it.

Cut a bevel, wrap and match. Tape, shape and braid.

SS1.jpg

SS2.jpg

SS3.jpg

SS4.jpg

SS5.jpg

SS6.jpg

post-5252-1235080486_thumb.jpg

post-5252-1235080493_thumb.jpg

post-5252-1235080500_thumb.jpg

post-5252-1235080507_thumb.jpg

post-5252-1235080516_thumb.jpg

post-5252-1235080524_thumb.jpg

Edited by rawhider