kristinj

Looking For My First Leather Sewing Machine And Overwhelmed

I've been looking for and researching leather sewing machines and am at a point where I am totally overwhelmed! I've read so much about what to look for and whats what and will and won't work and seen so many machines on craigslist and ebay and feel like I'm totally lost. Since I'm new to machine sewing a lot of the technical stuff I've read just kinda flys over my head since I'm not really sure what certain parts or things are. I feel like Iǘe over informed myself to the point of confusion and maybe need to pull it back a bit and refocus and seek out more personal information from people more experienced in the craft.

I currently am willing to pay for a decent used machine. I looking to make mostly various wallets, purses, belts, mostly medium to heavy weight stuff.

I pretty much would like to just put together a list of basic makes and models so that I can be more focuses in my searches. I feel like I have seen so many machines listed on ebay and craigslist that say they are industrial machines capable of sewing leather but after more research it turns out they are not recommended by experienced leather workers. I figure if i have a list of models i can specifically search for I will be less overwhelmed by all the crap thats out there.

Thanks!

I've been looking for and researching leather sewing machines and am at a point where I am totally overwhelmed! I've read so much about what to look for and whats what and will and won't work and seen so many machines on craigslist and ebay and feel like I'm totally lost. Since I'm new to machine sewing a lot of the technical stuff I've read just kinda flys over my head since I'm not really sure what certain parts or things are. I feel like Iǘe over informed myself to the point of confusion and maybe need to pull it back a bit and refocus and seek out more personal information from people more experienced in the craft.