EricDobson

Books (Dvds?) For Beginners

Just like all beginners in the honeymoon phase of a new hobby I've been devouring all the information I can find on leather working. I'm in a fortunate but dangerous situation. I'm not rich by any means (ok that's not true, I always have to remember the Global Rich List when I say something like that) but if I wanted I could buy anything I wanted for working leather. Somehow I don't think it'd be best for a total beginner to run out and order a Campbell. In any case, I've blown enough money on temporary pursuits to have (mostly) learned my lesson. As a musician of almost 20 years, I know better than most that great tools are are always worth the cost, but consistent practice counts far more than anything. So, I'm taking it slow.

Step one was to join this forum! I'm already overwhelmed by the amount of great information here and the countless helpful craftsman. I hope in time my skill improves to the point that I can be helpful to others. In the mean time I can at least write about the steps I take and if they worked out or not.

Step two was to order a few books. I had done a little research on Amazon before finding this forum and the book I had it narrowed down to was Al Stohlman's The Art Of Hand Sewing Leather. The only problem was that it's really hard to tell with craft books if they're true guides to learning great skills, or mass-market crap. What really impressed me after searching the forums is how, not only how many people straight up recommend this book to all beginners, but how highly it's spoken of in passing comments. It seems to be almost a given, that people casually discussing some technique often say "here's what I do and that's how it's done in Al's book." So clearly, this book went straight to the top of my list.