cipherr

Looking For Tool List Feedback

Hello !

As this forum section generally suggestes, I'm rather new to leather crafting. I've done a lot of research, and I just want some more skilled individuals to proof my list of tools and things I intend to purchase. I already own the tool set for carving designs and things into leather, this list is more focused on what I need to cut, sew, etc. I also have a few questions about some things, so I would really appreciate anyone who can give me some feedback on it all. While I plan to make some small things to practice, I would eventually like to try making a sheath for

a small knife.

So here's my list

Awl - I hear diamond shaped ones are good. I've also seen awls that have a thread spool built in. I would like a little guidance on needles, assuming I'll need some other kind too maybe.

Leather punch tools - Would buying a set of loose tools be better than getting the pliers kind? I've also seen a tool that's used for spacing the dots to poke holes with, not sure if worth it.

Leather Edge Beveller - Is there a finishing tool that I need more than this? Or a good alternative?

Knife - Aka something to cut the leather with. Seems people use exactos or box cutters mostly? What about using a rotary blade (pizza-cutter shaped thing)?

Contact cement, Oil finishes, dyes, etc (as needed)

And of course leather and threads.

So what am I missing here? Anything that would be helpful for a sheath? Anything that would just be good to have in general? I know a lot of people here seem to like getting books and things on the topic. I feel like the internet is a good enough resource, but maybe I'm wrong? I would really appreciate any tips.

Thanks for reading!

Hello !