Sign in to follow this  
particle

Updated Website - What Do You Think?

I've been working on an updated website for many months now, but only got around to replacing my old site just last week. This new site will allow for a shopping cart purchase system, instead of the old order form I used previously. I'm hoping the instant-pay isn't a turn-off to repeat customers, and I hope new customers won't mind it either...

Anyway, what do you think? Anyone see any room for improvement?

http://www.adamsleatherworks.com/

Home page came up okay. I attempted to navigate to Products - Belts, no response, then a database error, then could not reconnect. Using Firefox 13.0.1. (Using a 25 Mbps connection.)

Edit: It just came back up, looks great.

CTG

Edited by northmount

Interesting - thanks for looking. I have been messing with the site over my lunch break, so maybe that had something to do with it. I just checked the belt page and it came up fine, albeit a little slow - the ecommerce plugin is rather slow and heavily embedded into the template file so not much I can do about it. :(

I need to update the gallery page too - it's pulling too many images onto the same page and taking way too long to load.

The whole thing looks great though. Admittedly, I didn't take a lot of time to analyze individual aspects, but it looked very professional. But, it irritated me too since I'm working on my own site right now and I'm actually having to learn some coding that I never wanted to learn in order to get it done.

I hear ya! I used to enjoy playing with the code, so long as I was surrounded by people that knew a lot more than me so I could get coding help. That's when I gave Concrete 5 a try, which is what I used on my previous site. This new site uses Wordpress. It's pretty simple to learn, and there are a lot of great looking templates out there. If you're not super stoked to do your own coding, you owe it to yourself to try a CMS website.