jbird22cal

Quick Simple Odorless Leather Finish?

Hello all,

I'm new to leather working. So far I haven't made anything that requires a finish.

I started making a bow wrist sling last night. The sling design is of common modern design. It uses 550 para cord for the sling and attaches to the bow via bolt through a 4-5 inch leather strap. I have strap and belt blanks I can use for the leather part as well as grommits for the bolt.

I just don't have Any finish that I know will work. I have tung oil and linseed oil that I often use for gun stock repairs/work.

I need somewhat of a subdued, color for the leather and a odorless protectant. I have some lightly dyed brack wax/grease stuff for my motorcycle bags but I just don't know where to start.

I would use eco-flo if I had a local shop carrying it. I can mail order it if its the best.

I'm looking for something simple. Shoe polish, oil, etc. Any help is appreciated.

Here is what I've got so far.

post-16024-072165100 1287241900_thumb.jp

post-16024-079621000 1287241920_thumb.jp

I picked up some info on how to make it from this fellow:

bowhunter4e's youtube profile look for project bow D.I.Y. wrist slings if you want to make one or two yourself. I imagine a person could make the whole thong from leather if they had about 5 foot sections of lace.

I don't think anything is really odorless. We use mainly spirit dyes for coloring (unless it is fancy detailed stuff, where I use thinned acrylics). Finish with a bit of super shene if needed (especially ont he acrylics) or for shine. Treat pretty much everything with a leather grease with beeswax in it. The super shene dries pretty much odorless, but the smell of the stuff reminds me of elmer's glue. Beeswax has a slight scent as well.