777Leathers

New To Leather Seeks Help!

Hello,

I am new to the world of leather working and look forward to learning my new hobby! I look forward to sharing my projects with you all. I hope if I have any questions I can ask any of you veterans for advice! I have gone through the forums and see many helpful people on here.

I have seen some amazing work on here and hope one day to be as good as most of you on here.

My first project will be a knife sheath for a Bowie knife that I made with a antler bone handle. I bought a variety of leather tools for a basic beginning and hope to gather more as my experience grows.

Does anyone on here have any cool sheath ideas for a bowie?

I believe Chuck Burrows may have some learning material to help those who are new. Check him out....he is on LW.

That's how I got started. These are a couple I done before I started learning about how to really work leather. there not done well but it was fun. My advice is to start out doing things you like and enjoy so you will look forward to the next one and won't get overwhelmed or frustrated.

1530558_395534177250209_2014836942_n.jpg

1530558_395534177250209_2014836942_n.jpg

post-47316-0-11417900-1390695426_thumb.j

post-47316-0-31655900-1390695826_thumb.j

This is one made for a friend of mine. It was a great chance to try our some basket weave. If you need it, I will gather the information on how to lay out the pattern and welts for the sheath. Holler at me. Jim

Block and Basket.JPG

post-39965-0-30326800-1391346205_thumb.j

Jim,

HOLLER! I would be interested in th pattern and welt layout.

Thanks,

Tom

Jim,

HOLLER! I would be interested in th pattern and welt layout.

Thanks,

Tom