Sign in to follow this  
Suicide

Using A Mule Foot As Petal Lifter

Hi guys,

I think I heard somethere what it is possible to use mulefoot stamps almost in a way as pro petal tool. Well, probablu do not undercut but at least to lift a petals.

Can you please tell me IF it is possible , how mulefoot can be used for it?

Thanks iun advance!

Edited by Suicide

in a word- no. Get one from Grey ghost- I have 4 of them. well made- if price is an issue call Springfield leather and get the TLF model. I used one for many, many years with great results. Still do.

pete

in a word- no. Get one from Grey ghost- I have 4 of them. well made- if price is an issue call Springfield leather and get the TLF model. I used one for many, many years with great results. Still do.

pete

Thanks, pete!

Hi!

As I'm only a beginner carver, I wouldn't know how to use a petal lifter properly even if I had one =) And as I'm struggling for cash to get the basic tools (£40 is ok for a quality tool but when you need 30-50 tools and leathercraft is just a hobby, that's an outlay I can't afford), I just took a couple of steel rods (happened to have some lying around - surprised my mrs did not throw them away :), looked at a few pics of petal lifters, filed the rods to a required width and angle, polished them and voila! - I've got two basic undercutters that do the job for me and are filed exactly to the sizes I need for my current carving.

I'm sure I'll get pro lifters when I get better, but the homemade ones are doing a decent job at the moment, and would shurely be better than the mulefoot ;)

PS The money saved went towards a dixon pricking iron :)

PPS: Having said the above, I just recently learned that an undercutter is more of a knife than a stamp, so my lifters are more like the craftool B-series lifters. I just angle the cutting edge in a swivel cut and tap the rod with my mallet.

Edited by Chavez