dfd

Wraparound Bracelets

I'm fairly new to all this.So I made some nice 1/2" wide wraparound bracelets with spots & pyramids.I made them from 2-3 oz .veg tanned leather.I stained them with oil stain & satin sheen.When I flex them to wrap around the wrist the leather cracks on the surface.Am I using the wrong kind of leather or is it possibly of poor quality?If so,what would be a better choice?

I've had this happen to me a couple times, in my case, I think I used too much finish and that caused the surface to crack. Both times I had done 3 or 4 coats of Leather Balm w. Atom Wax because they were special projects.

Good luck,

Kevin

Put your finish on in very thin layers. Let it dry well between coats so the finish stays in layers. If it doesn't dry between coats, then it is just one thick layer and cracks. Thin your finish to 50-50 mix or so before application. Look up other recent posts on finishing. Some are using 50-50 mixture of mop-n-glow which I am trying out on some scraps to see how I like it. Looks good so far.

Depending on the finish you used, you may be able to use its solvent to remove most of it and refinish it. Feibings deglazer might work to help remove the finish too. Might take several applications and lots of rubbing with soft cotton cloth to remove the old stuff.

CTG

Put your finish on in very thin layers. Let it dry well between coats so the finish stays in layers. If it doesn't dry between coats, then it is just one thick layer and cracks. Thin your finish to 50-50 mix or so before application. Look up other recent posts on finishing. Some are using 50-50 mixture of mop-n-glow which I am trying out on some scraps to see how I like it. Looks good so far.

Depending on the finish you used, you may be able to use its solvent to remove most of it and refinish it. Feibings deglazer might work to help remove the finish too. Might take several applications and lots of rubbing with soft cotton cloth to remove the old stuff.

CTG