BanjoMan

Need Help With Dyes And Finishes

I am fairly new to leatherwork and need some good advice on what dye and finish I need to use to get the results I want. I am making holsters, wallets, badge holders and related items and I need a durable finish. Up to this point, I have been using Tandy eco-flo water based dye and satin sheen finish. It has worked out all right with the brown and tan, but the black did not penetrate very well. After SEVERAL coats it still looked dark brown. I am ready to switch to a higher quality dye, but I don't know where to start. I have heard a lot of good things about Fiebing's, but they have several options to choose from. What is the difference between the regular dye and the oil dye? Also, what Fiebing's finish is best to use. I want something that is permanent and waterproof but I DO NOT want a high gloss. I am not equipped to spray a finish on, so I need something that can be applied with either wool daubers or a sponge. I know that this is a lot to ask at once, but I just need a starting point!

Edited by BanjoMan

For Eco flo you need to dye the leather blue first then black then finish. For Fiebings either will work and they are both better than eco flo. I always use tan kote for my finish which can be applied with anything.You should look and ask in the Dyes section of this Forum.

Edited by Reaves Leather

Banjoman,

I use Fiebings dyes and a Feibings Resolene finish. Resolene/Water mixture 50/50 with at least 2 coatings. Leaves a satiny finish. The difference between Eco-flo and Fiebings is the difference between a water-base and oil base paint. The oil-base dye...I believe.... will be a more durable finish. My S.O.P. is to get to the point where I am ready to finish..1) 1 light coat of Neatsfoot oil..let dry overnight 2) Dye ..I use a dauber to dye, ...one-two-or three coats..whatever it takes..let dry overnight 3) Buff and finish w/2 coats of Resolene mixture.