dcantato

Smaller Needles And Thread

I'm new to leatherworking and I can't seem to find the info I'm looking for clearly described. I bought a basic needle work kit off of tandy and it came with these dull and relatively large needles and thread. What I'm wondering is if there is a more thin thread and finer needles that are often used for hand stitching?

Thanks

I buy my needles at walmart (multi needle pack for about $2) and use either the smallest pair or the next smallest pair. I get my waxed linen from Hobby Lobby, "On a string" brand...white, black, or brown.

The dull needles are for sewing...they're dull so that when you go through a stitch hole, the blunt needle won't pierce an existing thread, it will go around it. I just buy sharp needles and file the tip down a little, or be careful when sewing.

The ones from Tandy are of the correct type (blunt tip, egg-eye harness needles) but far too large. They are 000 size. For comparison the largest I use are 2 size needles but usually 4 size. 000 size is like stitching with crowbars. You can get proper size ones from several of the better leather supply places such as Springfield.

the 000s seem to be good when you are using 5ply or higher thread. For 4ply or 332 to 432 thread, the #2s work well. For smaller 532-832 thread the #4 are best, imo.

size difference between them in case you want it by the numbers.

Size 2

55mm length x 1.02mm diameter

Size 4

50mm length x 0.86mm diameter

PS- size 1-3 are the same needle size (in John James anyway). They're just numbered differently depending on where you live.

the 000s seem to be good when you are using 5ply or higher thread. For 4ply or 332 to 432 thread, the #2s work well. For smaller 532-832 thread the #4 are best, imo.

size difference between them in case you want it by the numbers.

Size 2

55mm length x 1.02mm diameter

Size 4

50mm length x 0.86mm diameter