Sumguy

Newbie Making Leather Washers

Hi,

I'm a noob to leather and am trying to start off by working on a project for my bicycle. What I'm trying to make are leather rings with an inside diameter of 20mm, outside diameter of 32mm. I saw a DIY project online where they've done this.

So I've bought some leather and a set of punches. The difficulty is that I think I've bought too thick a piece of leather - I bought 6 to 7 oz veg tanned. My punch is not going through very cleanly. (the original DIY project used leather off an old couch found out in the garbage - I'm cheap but not that cheap)

So my question is would dampening the leather.make the punching holes go easier? I need to make 90 of these 'washers' so I want it to go as easy as can be. It doesn't matter too much it the leather hardens or the finish is impacted - when complete you'd just see the edges.

I've also sharpened the punches as they weren't as sharp as my carving tools.

thx in advance

Handle the leather as you would for tempering, ready to carve. Makes the punching holes almost fun. LOL

ferg

50 years...

I'm enough of a newbie that you've lost me already. Can you expand on what you mean?

thx

Wet the leather---then let it dry till it starts to return to its original color, then punch your holes. Make sure you are doing this on a solid surface with no give to it. This is what I do and it makes cutting with a punch much easier.

Dry silicone spray works good on my clicker dies that aren't as sharp as they should be. I imagine it would help on your punches too. The stuff is hard to find. The last time I got some, I had to special order so I got 2 cans. Beeswax works too. take your punch and push it into a cake of beeswax. I use that a lot on my drive punches. The new punches sure aren't the same quality as the old ones. Old punches that are sharp and polished are a pleasure to use.