jtrujillo707

Noob With Questions

hello guys and gals, im a complete noob to leather work. me and my girlfriend were looking at getting into this as a hobby we could do together, and possibly give the things we made as gifts.

What we were looking at making was mostly simple wallets,bags and maybe some belts. Like i said we are complete begginers , i have been reading trying to learn a little but still confused

. i wanted to buy some tools to get me started. i was looking at the kits on tandys. but i know like in most hobby's you get what you pay. i would rather buy one quality tool at a time. then to buy a cheap kit and have to buy twice.

i dont need anything top of the line but just good solid construction. i was wondering. what you guys here recommend i buy to get me started in this hobby. specifically to start making wallets,bags, belts.

i know its going to be hard but we accept the challenge to try to learn this craft. thank you for your time

J it depends on what kind of leather work you want to do. You can make wallets, belts and purses plain and that would change the tools you need. I seldom do any 'tooling' especially Sheridan flowery stuff and so what I use day in and out is a lot different than someone who does Sheridan tooling on wallets, belts etc. However a basic "7" will always come in handy whether you do Sheridan or not. That's a swivel knife, veiner, camo, beverler, etc. And you can get those anywhere, even Tandy to start out with. I would recommend you get a smaller beveler some where though because I never could bevel with the bulky one that came in the tandy 7.

However if I was starting over I would go to Bruce Johnson, a member on here and ask him some questions and let him sell you what you need after you have a clearer idea of what you want. He sells mostly vintage tools and they are so much better than most of the new ones.

His website is: http://brucejohnsonleather.com/ Cheryl