slipangle

Some Bicycle Saddle Bags

Hello,

New to the forum, though I check in now and again and learn a great deal from you folks.

Leather work is not my specialty. I dabble in leather, as well as many other things. I really love to make tools and will post some awl hafts I've been working on too.

Most of what I'm been doing has been for the guys over on a Classic & Vintage bicycle forum

I participate in. Here's a couple of pics of some saddle bags I've made.

These seams are beveled at 45 degrees and then saddle stitched. But I'm still learning. Particularly how to finish the edges of this black chrome tanned leather.

Thanks for looking,

Scott

post-55781-0-92036300-1413201090_thumb.j

post-55781-0-86740000-1413201147_thumb.j

post-55781-0-51246300-1413201216_thumb.j

Here's one more. The first one I did. With custom logo cut outs. This was sized to a particular length, to fold a folded up tubular tire, as well as tool kit, lunch, etc. But it came out ungainly looking. Sort of like an old Rollei camera case. :)

more pics….

post-55781-0-37388400-1413201891_thumb.j

post-55781-0-76359700-1413202039_thumb.j

post-55781-0-45965200-1413202065_thumb.j

post-55781-0-54163300-1413202066_thumb.j

Not certain how to add pics from a hosting site. I'll see if this works.

saddlebag4-3.jpg

smallwedge7_zpsfb6fd55a.jpg

bag3-7.jpg

Thank you, Benlilly1.

your stitching looks very good. Nice work!!!

Really nice! Excellent craftsmanship.

Thanks folks. Very frustrating trying to get edges on this softish leather to look good. This winter I'll try some in veg tanned tool rolls.

Though I've never quite liked the look of dyed leather. Maybe because I'm not that good at it and consider it a true art when done really well. And would like to try that fancy edge paint I've learned about here on this black material.

Thank you, M. U.

They look great! Thanks for sharing,

All of them, are nice looking bags, Nice Job ----------------------- Wild Bill46