EmbossingDieCompany

How Do I Color Embossed Leather?

Hi,

I'm new to leatherworking, so please be kind. :)

I've started making plastic leather embossing dies and now I need an easy way to color and finish the leather items I would like to make.

I'm attaching a picture of a coaster that I embossed and I would like to make the recessed areas blue. I bought a leather die and it make the whole piece blue.

Does anyone have any advice as to how I can add a blue color to this?

Thanks!

Steve

post-16724-051687600 1284677205_thumb.jp

Hi,

I've started making plastic leather embossing dies and now I need an easy way to color and finish the leather items I would like to make.

I'm attaching a picture of a coaster that I embossed and I would like to make the recessed areas blue. I bought a leather die and it make the whole piece blue.

Thanks!

Steve

I can't offer any suggestions on the coloring part of it, but as a hobby leatherworker and former member of the Air Force I'd like to say very very cool!

How did you make the plastic die?

Chris

www.builderofstuff.com

I can't offer any suggestions on the coloring part of it, but as a hobby leatherworker and former member of the Air Force I'd like to say very very cool!

How did you make the plastic die?

Chris

www.builderofstuff.com

Hi,

Thanks!

Steve

I don't know how this got so messed up, but I tried to answer and quess I hit the wrong button. If you can't die, then I would try an acrylic paint. Get a good brush. One other thing putting blue straight on the leather you might get a bleed through and it will turn green, so a good base of grey will help. Mike

Hi,

Thanks!

Steve

Edited by yeringtonmike

Hi Chris,