unc101

Sewing Machine for Hockey Skates

Hi Gang, complete newbie here. I’m trying to customize few hockey skates with some ballistic nylon and synthetic leather of 3mm on top of a hockey skate, plus a felt tongue. After some searching came into conclusion I need a shoe patcher for this type of work and very heavy duty one. I found a local guy, 2 hour drive form me, who has the Singer 29K51 with full treadle in good condition for $350 CND. My main concern is will it be able to handle dense felt material up to ½” thickness. Do these older machines like Adler 30-10 or 29K able to handle such thick materials, and most importantly how well the stitch will look, it’s for cosmetic purpose so it can’t look crooked. I don’t want to drive all the way to find out it will not handle it.

He says the machine has been stored with full cover for one year, but it’s fully functional and needs no servicing. Is this considered a good price for this machine? Will it handle my needs? Is there any way to modify this one or any other low budget machine to handle thicker material up to ½” or even ¾” by raising the foot somehow or any other modification?

Anything else you can recommend in the $400 budget that will do the job?

What are the major problems with these machine and if I do drive out there. What things I should look for, or that fails the most?

Any other input would be very helpful,

Please respond ASAP, because I’m afraid he might sell it quickly, since he says it’s a $600 - $800 machine.

Cheers

unc101.... Make the drive! take with you what you need to sew, then you will know if it will work.

I do know that some of the Adler patch machines use a long needle, that might be what you have to get.

Keep checking back on the fourm or send" Art " a pm for help to your questions..