Sign in to follow this  
ToddB 68

Need Advice on Making Utility Tool Sheath

Hi Everyone !

I'm a Newbie to leather work, although have made a few simple tool pouches in the past using brass rivets (no stitching experience.).

One of my hobbies is metal detecting and I made a digging tool for recovering lost coins, jewelry and relics at public parks, etc.. This tool can deal with rocks that occasionally get in the way, without bending or breaking. Attached are photos of the tool and drawing of a leather sheath I would like to make for it. This will be my first serious leather project.

I have a large piece of tanned cow hide, light tan colored. It appears to be a side section, is stiff, and the thickness around the edges varies from .140" to .210", as measured with a micrometer. I believe the nominal leather weight would be considered 9 oz. .

I plan to glue and stitch the pieces together by hand, adding a reinforcing rivet at each of the upper corners. I have ordered a book on stitching, titled The Art of Hand Sewing Leather, by Al Stohlman, to get ideas on different types of stitching. I am shooting for a plain, but pleasing, appearance, no decorations, except I would like the edges of the completed sheath to be slightly rounded, dyed black and polished to a soft shine. After the sheath is completed, I may use neatsfoot oil as a preservative, however, since this will darken the leather, I might decide to use a non-darkening preservative to retain the natural light tan color of the leather; this might give a more attractive contrast with the black dyed and polished edges. I like both appearances, but undecided right now.