Cynesra

Another Newbie With A Few Getting Started Questions!

Hello all!

I’ve been pouring over the forums, finding lots of good tips and hints, interesting info and the like. It definitely seems like this is the most informative place out there for leatherworking questions! That being said, I’m a newbie to leather working, though I’ve wanted to try for years. I recently broke down and bought a lot of the starting tools for what I want to do, which is create dog products like collars and leashes. I’ve been making paracord items for the last bit and want to expand my talents/ hobby so to speak! I’d eventually like to make my own dog a service dog harness since vests tend to rotate around his deep but narrow body! But that will come in the future. Now I have a few questions, some are related to other threads I’ve found but such threads were also around 3-4 years old, so I figured I’d have better luck creating a new post in this newbie area! So here are my questions:

• I am interested in learning how to line collars, is there a tutorial out there on how to do this? Also with that in mind what is the best leather to use to line dog collars?
  • I see things like harnesses padded with a wool type material, is this usual sheep skin?
  • Is there a place that I can buy and/or download patterns for harnesses, and sight hound collars?
  • What would be some good books to read about making dog items?
  • What are the best braiding books?
  • Any handy tutorials on dog collar/leash making?

Any suggestions would be helpful! I have a nice base idea of what I’m wanting to do,but since I’m best at following tutorials and patterns then modifying once I have basics done on any craftsy thing, I figured I’d ask.Paracord tutorials are EVERYWHERE but the leather stuff seems to be a closely guarded secret!

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Cynesra

Cynesra,

Here are my answers to some of your questions, hopefully others will have more and probably better responses;