I am fairly new to leatherwork and need some good advice on what dye and finish I need to use to get the results I want. I am making holsters, wallets, badge holders and related items and I need a durable finish. Up to this point, I have been using Tandy eco-flo water based dye and satin sheen finish. It has worked out all right with the brown and tan, but the black did not penetrate very well. After SEVERAL coats it still looked dark brown. I am ready to switch to a higher quality dye, but I don't know where to start. I have heard a lot of good things about Fiebing's, but they have several options to choose from. What is the difference between the regular dye and the oil dye? Also, what Fiebing's finish is best to use. I want something that is permanent and waterproof but I DO NOT want a high gloss. I am not equipped to spray a finish on, so I need something that can be applied with either wool daubers or a sponge. I know that this is a lot to ask at once, but I just need a starting point!

Hey BanjoMan,

I use the USMC Black, it's a spirit dye. I dye with a dark color, blue or green first (in the attached photo it was dyed green first), then apply the black over it, usually two coats, then let dry for a day or so. Then I oil with neatsfoot oil and let dry for a day or so. Then apply acrylic resolene, cut 50/50 with water. Gives a nice satin finish. Follow up with black leather balm with atom wax and you should be in good shape.

That's just my way. There are others who are more qualified than me who might have a different take.

Good luck,

Dave

post-14241-007101900 1294605421_thumb.jp

Hey BanjoMan,