Although I am fairly new to leatherworking, I have completed alot of different projects from belts and wallets to custom rifle scabbards. All of my stuff to this point has turned out good with the exception of my leather being stiff and hard. I usually case my leather, do all my tooling, and dye it soon after tooling is completed. I usually apply my topcoat (fiebings acrylic resolene) within a few hours of dying with fiebings professional oil dye. The result is hard, stiff leather. What can I do or add to give me nice soft, supple leather projects?? I was thinking about adding a couple coats of Neatsfoot oil between the dyeing and topcoat stages. Would this work??? Also, how much will this increase the suppleness of my projects?? Thanks in advance for any input!!

Add a couple of LIGHT coats of neatsfoot oil between your dying, and finishing. Dying leeches out the natural fat oils and those infused during the tanning process. Take caution and apply this sparingly in increments. Neatsfoot is VERY easy to over apply and saturates the fibers. You can ruin a many of projects with oversaturating with oil.

Although I am fairly new to leatherworking, I have completed alot of different projects from belts and wallets to custom rifle scabbards. All of my stuff to this point has turned out good with the exception of my leather being stiff and hard. I usually case my leather, do all my tooling, and dye it soon after tooling is completed. I usually apply my topcoat (fiebings acrylic resolene) within a few hours of dying with fiebings professional oil dye. The result is hard, stiff leather. What can I do or add to give me nice soft, supple leather projects?? I was thinking about adding a couple coats of Neatsfoot oil between the dyeing and topcoat stages. Would this work??? Also, how much will this increase the suppleness of my projects?? Thanks in advance for any input!!