Help, I've been making holsters as a hobby for a few months now for myself and I would like to make some for family, friends and such, but I'm having a problem.

After soaking in hot tap water (120 degrees) with a drop of dish soap for about 30 seconds, I mold and bone the holster and let dry for a day or so. After it's dry I notice a 1/4 inch band around the holster mouth and body shield that is lighter in color than the rest of the holster. After drying with fiebings it becomes more noticeable no matter how many coats I apply, especially with the tan color. I'm using a mid grade Tandy 8-9 oz. leather but plan on using something better in the future. I'm becoming increasingly frustrated so any tips and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a picture that demonstrates the problem

h12.jpg

Help, I've been making holsters as a hobby for a few months now for myself and I would like to make some for family, friends and such, but I'm having a problem.

After soaking in hot tap water (120 degrees) with a drop of dish soap for about 30 seconds, I mold and bone the holster and let dry for a day or so. After it's dry I notice a 1/4 inch band around the holster mouth and body shield that is lighter in color than the rest of the holster. After drying with fiebings it becomes more noticeable no matter how many coats I apply, especially with the tan color. I'm using a mid grade Tandy 8-9 oz. leather but plan on using something better in the future. I'm becoming increasingly frustrated so any tips and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a picture that demonstrates the problem

h12.jpg

That is odd, someone on here that has done more holsters than I, might know exactly what the problem is, but it looks like to me that you burnished the edges in question with a burnishing wheel prior to dying. This in turn left a very uniformed waxy band around the edge of the holster, which wont allow the dye to penetrate the leather.