Cobra Steve of Leather Machine Co. has put together an informational page about Skiving Machines with a video too! Thanks for sharing, Steve!

Leather Skiving Machines are very powerful tools to bevel the edges of leather from the lightest weights up to heaviest 14/16 oz. hides. Producing a beautifully smooth and uniform flat or beveled edge is easy as the feed wheel effortlessly pulls the leather through the bell knife. The width, depth and shape of the skiving are easily adjustable by the operator in any amount. You can remove just the roughness from the flesh or hair side, or take off a huge amount and thin out a 1/4” thickness down to as thin as tissue paper.

Johanna,

I believe the video is on sewing machines.

ferg

Hey Guys,

I know this is a little off topic, but I wanted your input on what would be the best tool for skiving. I learned my techniques when I studied Shoemaking and I just started my own handmade leather purse company. Right now am using upholstery leather and skiving by hand with a leather skiving knife (Osborne 925). For my biggest purse, which is about 6 sqft of leather it took 3 hours and 30 blades to skive. I am wondering how professionals do it? Do they use something more similar to the skiving machine you guys are referring to? I am open to any suggestions. Thank you

Gianina of http://www.well-loved.com

A Bottom feed Bell Skiver is probably the best bet. I still use a skiving knife for intricate stuff, but for long runs, the bell skiver is best. Bob Beard makes the best Skiving Knife, but I have one of Terry Knipschield's that is very good also. A good bleeding sharp head knife will work ok, but the real skiving knives are better.

Art

My skiver has both top and bottom feed, I would need to use a single feed to be sure that was the best way.

Anyone considering one of these machines should know that other than the Fortuna, almost all of the machines on the market are exactly the same with different names on them.