Sign in to follow this  
Buddytink

Books On Making Horse Tack

Ive never done any kind of leather work, but I've always wanted to, just dont know where to start. I would like to make horse tack, like; bridles, breast collars, bronc halters, etc (smaller stuff at first) Ive been thinking that maybe I should get some books, but when I start looking for books there are a TON of them. So does anyone have any ideas on what some good books are for beginners that want to get into making horse tack?? (I'd also have to learn about the different tools to use as well, so would the book tell me about this as well??)

Welcome to the forum buddytink. I'm new to leatherworking as well, but IMO it is well worth the time to get a beginners kit from Tandy. It helps you get the feel for the basic tools and gives you lots to practice on. There are several places that carry books on making tack. I'm sure one of the experienced saddle and tack makers will chime in for book recommendations. Good Luck. Leatherworking is an addiction.

Buddytink,

For a book on tools I don't think that you can really beat Al Stohlman's 'Leathercraft Tools' and his 'The Art of Handsewing Leather' for starters.

I can tell you about books on English tack but I think I'll let someone with better knowledge than me address western tack.

Gary

"Western Tack Tips" and "More Western Tack Tips" are very good books. Tom Hall is the author and they are available from Hidecrafter

welcome,

i have many of books on leathercraft, but what ive found is that the best book is experience.

i will assume you have horses in your area so....