Sign in to follow this  
WScott

Playing With Thread Colors

I am a newbie here and in leather work, studying and doing small projects so far for just about a year now.

After doing a bit of saddle stitching, I was getting bored with the color selection for thread that Tandy had, so I decided to make my own.

I took some plain white waxed Tandy thread, de-waxed it with some acetone (nail polish remover) and tested dying it in different colors. The red and orange on the spool are from

Cova colors (acrylic paint) and the green stuff is a water based neon green model paint for an air brush. I dipped the thread into paint wrapped on a stick and let it soak

for an hour or so. Then did a wipe down with a cloth to take excess away and or fill in voids. Then hung it to dry....overnight is best. Next morning, I ran it through the bees wax and rolled them up.

If you have any dead areas, you can add color with a Sharpie marker if it matches the paint color.

The neon green really pops and matches my coffee mug well; the boring Tandy brown thread has nice contrast on my wife's brown mug, but not the same pop.

Just fooling around, hope someone finds this interesting. Finally figuring out the photo posting here hooooray!

Scott

post-23986-031047300 1332049665_thumb.jp

post-23986-038951600 1332049714_thumb.jp

post-23986-084537100 1332049787_thumb.jp

post-23986-014082500 1332049814_thumb.jp

post-23986-027178100 1332049861_thumb.jp

looks great!:thumbsup:

I am a newbie here and in leather work, studying and doing small projects so far for just about a year now.

After doing a bit of saddle stitching, I was getting bored with the color selection for thread that Tandy had, so I decided to make my own.

I took some plain white waxed Tandy thread, de-waxed it with some acetone (nail polish remover) and tested dying it in different colors. The red and orange on the spool are from