wildrose

Class For Total Newbies

I have the opportunity to begin teaching classes at a new art shop locally. So far, they've done stained glass, batik and drawing. They are very eager to have me and I can set any fee and do any "topic" I want. So what would you do, or want to take? I'm not talking about it being for children either, though 'til now that's been my usual (4H and Scouts).

I'd considered buying a pack of rounders and teaching a basic carving/tooling class. I have enough tools and knives to do that, and oodles of patterns. I'm hesitant to just teach stamping, though I find people outside of leatherwork seem to think it's easiest.

Thoughts?

I have the opportunity to begin teaching classes at a new art shop locally. So far, they've done stained glass, batik and drawing. They are very eager to have me and I can set any fee and do any "topic" I want. So what would you do, or want to take? I'm not talking about it being for children either, though 'til now that's been my usual (4H and Scouts).

I'd considered buying a pack of rounders and teaching a basic carving/tooling class. I have enough tools and knives to do that, and oodles of patterns. I'm hesitant to just teach stamping, though I find people outside of leatherwork seem to think it's easiest.

Thoughts?

I have taught key rings.....names & initalss always go great.. also stamping book marks.

I've thought about those too, Luke, but I want it to perhaps be a longer session than the usual -1 hr. Those ARE good ideas to keep in mind though!

What about a photo frame mat. Everyone can always use one of these and you could make them any size you want, 4x6 etc...

The students could personalize it, whether the picture frame was going to be for their pet, grandchildren etc. They have a project that could be displayed as a conversation piece for years to come.

It