Rubederubes

Singer 45K58 - Is This The Right Machine For Me?

Hi

After hunting around on this forum I have struggled to find the answer to my questions.

I bought an overhauled Singer 45k58 with the intention of mainly making leather handbags, with and without fabric liners. I would also like to make leather chaps, possibly wallets and purses and othe leather crafty projects. I also produce hand stitched leather work, including bridles, headcollars, and belts.

I have struggled with this machine from the beginning, and am self taught with the help of the manual!

Sewing 2 pieces of leather together is not a problem, the issues start when I try to sew fabric to leather, when the leather and fabric are fed at different rates leading to disaster!

I also have problems when I try to sew 2 pieces of leather , then sew another 2 pieces of leather into the work, then return to the 2 pieces of leather thickness. It misses stitches, and I can get it to pick up the stitches at all.

The teeth at the bottom of the machine (feed dogs?!) also cause a problem and mark the leather or fabric which is another problem for me.

Would I be able to sew hair on sheepskin to a saddlecloth with this machine?

I have no idea if I am using the correct size thread, needles or if the machine is even set up correctly for my intended use?

What I really need is someone to come an give me some tuition on the machine, if anyone know anyone in the UK who could help me?

I wonder if I should sell this machine as I wonder if it is too heavy duty for my needs? What machine would be more appropriate that I can get in the UK?

Sorry for all the questions! I hope someone can help.

Thank you!!