arocco

Where Do You Buy Your Leather?

So I'm new to this forum and I've done some searching and one post I've wish I've found but still seems to elude me is a post on leather sources. I'm relatively new to leatherworking and I'm making watch straps right now from various Horween hides purchased from Maverick Leather Company out of California.

The quality of the leather is very good, while the price is relatively cheap (~$5 sqft)

I'm in the mood to start trying leather from different sources and other tanneries other than Horween but am not able to approach most tanneries directly because of the small amounts I buy.

Is there any other good leather dealers you guys would recommend?

Last side I got was from Wickett & Craig...but I'll try anyplace (other than Tandy and Springfield)

You can approach most tanneries directly even for small orders. A lot of us use Wickett & Craig for a good variety of high quality veg tan and you can buy as little as 1 side. You can also contact Horween's "little guy" extension called Tannery Row where you can buy as little as 1 side as well.

Where are you located? There are several smaller leather distributors around the US, like Sheridan Leather Outfitters in Sheridan, WY, or Panhandle Leather in Amarillo, TX, that are good to deal with and may be close to you. I like dealing with Sheridan Leather Outfitters when I can.

Bob

I have used both Thoroughbred Leather in Kentucky and American Leather Direct in Kentucky and have been happy with the products. Which one I use depends on what leather I need. Both have been good to work with even for one or two hides.

Shipping costs and duties to Canada make it difficult to obtain some of the nice leathers directly from the tannery.