Ravenquille

Greetings from Ravenquille

Hi Everyone!

I am from PA, and a Beginner at Leatherwork. My only current experience in Leather is Design, Tooling, Staining and Painting of pre-cut Belts. I have not yet done any Leather Carving, but as I am an Artist, I would like to try that as well; using my own original Artwork.

I am interested in creating my own designs for relatively simple Celtic/Renaissance Faire items, and Gothic/Fetish type of items, such as:

wristbands, armbands, neckbands, wrist and arm gauntlets, waistbands, waistcinchers.

Also interested in doing some Mandala designs.

Glad I found this Forum, very interesting reading so far; and so full of wisdom and experience!

Thanks so much!

Ravenquille

Hi and Welcome to the board Ravenquille!!

Nice name, so happens that ravens are my favourite bird/animal!!!

Using own artwork is something many of us dream about, I think.

This board is very friendly and has all types of leatherworkers from novelty to expertise. Don't be afraid to ask questions, most people are very generous and take their time to answer them.

There is lot of stuff to be read about carving and most aspects is covered but it might be a little digging for you to find the goodies. Hm there are some stuff on youtube aswell but off course some digging to find it there aswell.

I have made a few bracers and for first ones I would recommend to string them together on the arms inside OR use a velcro type attacment if you need an overlapping design. That is if a very snug fit is required. Snaps is a bit tricky because you need to take into account how much extra you need to add because you loose some length when you wrap it around the arm. The thicker the leather the more you will loose.

Tom

Hi and Welcome to the board Ravenquille!!

Nice name, so happens that ravens are my favourite bird/animal!!!

Hi Tom,

Read your post right away, but just realized that I hadn't typed my response yet....