Maria

Leatherworkers in Calgary--giving workshops??

Hey -I'm relatively new to Calgary AB and I have noticed a few of you are from here-does anyone know of a leatherworker in town who might be holding workshops or sessions? I am absolutely a beginner (I've got an awl and a bag of scrap leather pieces) but I'd like to get a feel for things with a teacher of sorts, or just somebody who has been doing it for awhile...Any ideas?

Thanks! Maria

Hi and welcome to the forum, Maria. You are absolutely in the right place to learn about leather. We've go some real experts here on the forum, and just about everyone on here is willing to help you learn. Check out the monthly challenges in the "special events...." forum. That is a voluntary participation online class, with member improvement being the goal. There will usually be a pattern supplied which can be printed and transferred to your leather. Also look for the tutorials that are spread throughout the site. You'll find a wealth of knowlege here. You can also take advantage of the "critique my work" section, where you can post pics of your work and have members offer their suggestions for improvements. On the home page of the site http://leatherworker.net (sans the /forum/) Dale H, and Clay B have given a few step by step tutorials for figure carving, and there's one on how to correctly sharpen and maintain a head knife by Rawhide (Marlon). Glad to have you on board, and we're all looking forward to seeing some of your work. And don't ever be afraid to post questions or pics- sometimes it's the best way to learn.

Mike

Edited by TwinOaks

Maria, first let's welcome you to the forum.....Welcome Maria....